Saturday 14th. March 2020 Rearranged fixture after postponed earlier League match...

Portsmouth 3rd XV 39 - 5 Andover 3rd XV

Match Report by Jim Dixon


Portsmouth 3rd.XV were the only team flying the flag this Saturday. The Club was originally due to watch the international rugby on Super Saturday but events rather scuppered that idea. However the planned brunch and drinks still went ahead with a few more spectators than usual giving their 'helpful advise'..... They had hoped to play on the 1st.XV pitch but the referee deemed in unfit so they moved to the Vets pitch.

Portsmouth had the unusual chance of playing a father and son combination at half back with Elliott and Matt Davis. Portsmouth kicked off and despite Andover appearing to knock on the referee waved play on and they took the ball deep into the Portsmouth half. Portsmouth withstood the pressure well and with a couple of good turn overs managed to work play back into the Andover half. Eventually their efforts were rewarded with a try scored by their winger following some good handling involving forwards and backs. The conversion missed and they led 5 - 0 on 22 minutes. That score seemed to give them confidence in their handling ability and they were soon crossing the line again through some good forward play. With the conversion successful they now led 12 - 0 after 28 minutes., Andover set up a good attack of their own but some good defence by the home side kept them at bay, Again it was the forwards who added to their score with a third try taking the score to 17 - 0 on 32 minutes. Portsmouth were playing some entertaining rugby but were unable to add to the score as the half time whistle went.

SECOND HALF.

Andover got the second half underway and Portsmouth were straight back on the attack but poor handling let them down at the crucial moment. Andover then had a real chance to open their account when a strong run by their centre was stopped with a big tackle by the Portsmouth fullback deep in the Portsmouth 22. From a scrum in the home sides' 22, a clearance kick by a Portsmouth centre saw the ball go into touch inside the visitors 22. Portsmouth were soon back on the scoreboard again following a good run by the backs which saw the ball eventually go the a second row who crashed over for their 4th, bonus point try. With the conversion successful they now led 24 - 0 on 45 minutes. Portsmouth were now in total control and 10 minutes later they were again on the score board following some good handling in the backs taking the score to 29 - 0 on 55 minutes, Shortly after this the Portsmouth No.8 made a good carry knocking defenders aside before passing to the 3's who finished off with a try wide out taking the score to 34 - 0 with about 10 minutes left. Andover then got their first score out wide following some good inter-passing between forwards and backs. The score was now 34 - 5 and there was just enough time for Portsmouth to sign off with their 7th. try making the final score 39 - 5 as the final whistle went.

Next week sees a resumption of 1st.XV League Rugby with a visit to Gosport & Fareham. Although they are at the wrong end of the table these are always hotly contested matches and next week will probably be no different. Let's hope that all rugby survives the current crisis and we can finish the season well with the 3 remaining fixtures, especially as the last 2 are at Rugby Camp.

news articles

  • Message From PRFC Chairman Ed Nevill

    Thu 07 May 2020 16:41

    Ed Nevill writes:-  Yesterday was Adams Longs Anniversary When you go out tonight to clap for your NHS heroes could you have that minute in silence (just clap?) and think of Adam … view

  • PORTSMOUTH RFC - A NEW DAWN ?

    Fri 24 Apr 2020 20:10

    PORTSMOUTH RFC - A NEW DAWN? We hope all our members, friends and their families continue to keep well. Despite our lock down PRFC have hit the headlines with donations of our sports … view

  • Ipro HYDRATE & Portsmouth RFC

    Mon 20 Apr 2020 13:13

    https://www.iprosport.com/partners/rugby/portsmouth-rfc/partner-news/ipro-and-portsmouth-rfc-collaborate-to-hydrate-local-nhs-key-workers 15TH APRIL 2020iPRO and Portsmouth RFC … view

  • COVID-19 Membership subscriptions

    Wed 15 Apr 2020 14:20

    COVID-19  MEMBERSHIP SUBSCRIPTIONS Dear Member Hopefully, you will be aware by now that the RFU have terminated rugby for the rest of the season. This means that none of us will be … view

  • Portsmouth RFC and Covid-19

    Thu 26 Mar 2020 18:11

    PORTSMOUTH RFC and COVID 19 Along with everyone else we are living in unprecedented times. We hope you are all well and coping with your social isolation. If the club can help in … view

  • RFU SUSPENDS ALL RUGBY

    Fri 20 Mar 2020 14:11

    Link to RFU article Rugby activity includes club training, league and cup matches plus rugby education courses from 17 March until 14 April subject to continued review. The … view

  • Games weekend 14th / 15th Match 2020

    Fri 20 Mar 2020 14:10

    Saturday 14th March 2020 Only one senior game this Saturday 3rd XV HOME to Andover 3, Rearranged League game, KO 1300 Sunday 15th March 2020 Colts at HOME to Tottonians B, … view

  • Games weekend 6th / 7th Match 2020

    Fri 06 Mar 2020 14:22

    Saturday 7th March 2020 Rearranged League Games for Senior sides 1st XV HOME to Weybridge Vandals,, League, KO 1400 2nd XV AWAY to Chichester 2. League, KO 1400 3rd XV AWAY to … view

  • Games Weekend 29th February/ 1st March 2020

    Sat 29 Feb 2020 21:37

    Saturday 29th February 2020 1st XV HOME to Old Georgians, League, KO 1430, Volunteers required with Garden Forks from 1230 to help with standing water Ist Team Game is on but to be … view

  • Games Weekend 22nd/23rd February 2020

    Fri 21 Feb 2020 20:29

    Saturday 22nd February 2020 1st XV AWAY to Reeds Weybridge, League, KO 1430 2nd XV HOME to IOW, League, KO 1430 3rd XV HOME to Lymington, League, KO 1430 Veterans AWAY to … view

  • Games Weekend 15th / 16th February 2020

    Sat 15 Feb 2020 22:36

    Saturday 15th February 2020 The Bar will be open in the afternoon to watch the Premiership Games 1st XV HOME to Weybridge Vandals, League, Postponed to 7th March 2nd XV AWAY to … view

  • Games Weekend 8th / 9th February 2020

    Sun 09 Feb 2020 20:03

    Saturday 8th February 2020 1st XV, AWAY to Andover, Hampshire Bowl Semi-Final, KO 1400 - Result Lost 22-10 No Senior Games at the Club this Saturday, but club is open for the … view

  • Games Weekend 1st / 2nd February 2020

    Sat 08 Feb 2020 20:42

    Saturday 1st February 2020 1st XV AWAY to Old Tiffinians, League, KO 1430 2nd XV HOME to Ventnor, League, KO 1430 3rd XV Home to a Portsmouth University XV, Friendly, KO 1230 ( … view

  • Weekend Games 25th/26th January 2020

    Fri 24 Jan 2020 18:39

    Saturday 25th January 2020 1st Xv, HOME to Trojans, League, KO 1415 2nd Xv, AWAY to Overton, League, KO 1400 3rd Xv, HOME to United Services Xv, Friendly, KO 1400 ( Updated 22nd … view

  • Games Weekend 18th/19th January 2020

    Mon 20 Jan 2020 20:35

    Saturday 18th January 2020 1st Xv AWAY to Effingham & Leatherhead, League, KO 1415, Won 38-8 2nd Xv HOME to Locksheath Pumas, League, KO 1400, Lost 11-18 3rd Xv AWAY to Kingsclere, … view

  • Games Weekend 11th/12th January 2020

    Sun 12 Jan 2020 15:50

    Saturday 11th January 2020 1st Xv HOME to Andover, League KO 1400 2nd Xv AWAY  to Fawley, League, KO 1400 3rd Xv AWAY to Farnham 4, Laegue KO 1400 Pre-Match Lunch Saturday 11th … view

  • Games Weekend 14th/15th December 2019

    Sun 05 Jan 2020 19:12

    Saturday 14th December 2019 1st Xv No Game  hi 2nd Xv AWAY to Southampton, League, KO 1400 3rd Xv HOME to Eastleigh 3, Cancelled by Eastleigh so no home games at PRFC this Saturday  … view

  • Games weekend 4th/5th January 2020

    Sun 05 Jan 2020 19:06

    Saturday 4th January 2020 Portsmouth 2/3 XV HOME to Petersfield 2/3 XV, Friendly, KO 1400, Won 31-15 Sunday 5th January 2020 Valkyries, AWAY to Reeading Abbey Ladies, League, KO 1 … view

  • Games Weekend 7/8th December 2019

    Tue 10 Dec 2019 11:05

    Saturday 7th December 2019 1st Xv AWAY to Warlingham, League, KO 1400 2nd Xv HOME to Tottonians, League, KO 1400 3rd Xv AWAY to Alton, League, KO 1400 Sunday 8th December 2019 … view

  • Games Weekend 30th November / 1st December 2019

    Sat 30 Nov 2019 10:56

    Saturday 30th November 2019 1st Xv No Game, we have withdrawn from the RFU Intermediate Cup due to injuries 2nd Xv No Game 3rd Xv/Vets, HOME to a Portsmouth University Xv, Friendly, … view

  • Games Weekend 23rd/24th November 2019

    Wed 27 Nov 2019 09:26

    Saturday 23rd November 2019 1st Xv HOME to Gosport  & Fareham, League, KO 1430 2nd Xv HOME to Gosport & Fareham 2nds, League, KO 1430 (Was an away fixture initially) 3rd Xv HOME to … view

  • Games Weekend 16th/17th November 2019

    Sun 17 Nov 2019 23:17

    Saturday 16th November 2019 1st Xv AWAY to Old Georgians, League, KO 1500 ( Being played at Ealing RFC * ) 2nd Xv HOME to Romsey, League, KO 1430 3rd Xv AWAY to Millbrook/Stoneham, … view

  • Games Weekend 9th/10th November 2019

    Mon 11 Nov 2019 20:46

    Saturday 9th November 2019 1st Xv HOME to Reeds Weybridge, League, KO 1430 2nd Xv AWAY to IOW, League, KO 1430 3d Xv HOME to Alresford, League, KO 1430 Sunday 10th November 2019 … view

  • George Cook - RIP, UPDATE

    Mon 04 Nov 2019 09:18

    Portsmouth Rugby Club is sad to announce the death of George Cook on Friday the 4th OctoberGeorge was a stalwart of the club, both as a player and later as treasurer for both Portsmouth … view

  • Games Weekend 2nd/3rd November 2019

    Mon 04 Nov 2019 09:17

    Saturday 2nd November 2019 No Home Games 1st Xv Away to Fareham Heathens, Round 2 Hampshire Bowl 2019-2020, KO 1400 Sunday 3rd November 2019 ( Updated Sat ) Valkyries Home to … view

  • Games Weekend 26th/27th October 2019

    Thu 31 Oct 2019 10:27

    Saturday 26th October 2019  1st Xv AWAY to Weybridge Vandals, League, KO 1500 2nd Xv HOME to Chichester 2nd Xv, League, KO 1500 3rd Xv AWAY to Locksheath Pumas 2, League KO 1500 … view

  • Games Weekend 19th / 20th October 2019

    Thu 31 Oct 2019 10:27

    Saturday 19th October 2019 1st Xv Home to Old Tiffinians, League, KO 1500 2nd Xv Away to Ventnor, League , KO 1500 3rd Xv Away to Ventnor, League, KO 1500 Vets at Home to Combined … view

  • Games Weekend 12th/13th October 2019

    Mon 14 Oct 2019 13:21

    Saturday 13th October 2019 Senior Mens sides - No League Games this weekend The Portsmouth vs Basingstoke, London & SE Senior Vase Round 1, game has been  conceded by Basingstoke,  … view

  • Games Weekend 5th/6th October 2019

    Sun 06 Oct 2019 20:58

    Saturday 5th October 2019 1st Xv AWAY to Trojans, League, KO 1500 2nd Xv HOME to Overton, League, KO 1500 3rd Xv  AWAY to New Milton, League, KO 1500 Sunday 6th October 2019 … view

  • Games Weekend 28th/29th September 2019

    Thu 03 Oct 2019 17:19

    Saturday 28th September 2019 1st Xv Home to Effingham & Leatherhead, League, KO 1500 2nd Xv Away to Locks Heath Pumas, League, KO 1500 ( Being played at Gosport RFC) 3rd Xv Home to … view

  • Games Weekend 21st/22nd September 2019

    Wed 25 Sep 2019 15:38

    Saturday 21st September 2019 1st Xv, Away to Andover, League, KO 1500 2nd Xv, Home to Fawley 2, League, KO 1500 3rd Xv, Home to Fordingbridge 2, League, KO 1500 Evening at   … view

  • Games Weekend 14th/15th September 2019

    Thu 19 Sep 2019 11:06

    Saturday 14th September 2019 1st Xv AWAY to Basingstoke, League, KO 1500 2nd Xv HOME to Southampton University Hospitals, League, KO 1500 3rd Xv HOME to Aldershot & Fleet, League, … view

  • Games Weekend 7th September 2019

    Tue 10 Sep 2019 17:02

    Saturday 7th September 2019 1st Xv Home to Winchester, Friendly KO 1500 2nd Xv Home to Winchester 2, Friendly, KO 1500 3rd Xv/Vets Home to Petersfield 3, Friendly, KO 1500 … view

  • New website

    Wed 28 Aug 2019 11:52

    Welcome to our new website, incorporating the Senior and Junior Club Welcome from  the Junior Chairperson My name is Bernie Taylor and, as Chairman of Portsmouth Junior Rugby … view

  • Games Saturday 31st August 2019

    Mon 26 Aug 2019 17:11

    Saturday 31st August 2019 1st Xv Home to Basingstoke, Hampshire Bowl Round 1, KO 1500 2nd Xv Hone to Eastleigh 2, Friendly, KO 1500 3rd Xv Play on Tuesday 3rd September 2019 at 1900 … view